Alpine Canada Announces National Teams

Coming off a “dream season,” Dustin Cook will lead Canada’s skiers as they continue on the road to the 2018 Pyeongchang Winter Olympics.

dustin Cook

Cook was one of eleven men and eight women named Wednesday as Alpine Canada unveiled its national alpine, skicross and para-alpine ski teams for the upcoming World Cup season.

The 26-year-old Cook, who grew up in Ottawa and now lives in Lac-Sainte-Marie, Que., captured the gold medal in the men’s super-G at the season-ending World Cup finals in Meribel, France.

The win capped a breakout season for Cook, who had never finished in the top 10 at a World Cup before he won a surprise silver in super-G at the world championship Feb. 5. He backed up that result with a World Cup bronze at a March 8 event en route to finishing fifth overall in the super-G world rankings.


Joining Cook on the men’s alpine team are Erik Guay, the most decorated Canadian alpine racer of all-time, Olympic bronze medallist Jan Hudec, and World Cup veteran Manuel-Osborne Paradis.

Erin Mielzynski slalom

The women’s team includes 2015 world championship silver medallist Erin Mielzynski, Marie-Michele Gagnon and Larisa Yurkiw, who finished finished second in a World Cup downhill Jan. 16 in Cortina, Italy.

Marielle Thompson

Olympic gold and silver medallists Marielle Thompson and Kelsey Serwa lead Canada’s women’s skicross team. They will be joined by rising star Georgia Simmerling.

Brady Leman, Chris Del Bosco, Dave Duncan, Louis-Pierre Helie and Mathieu Leduc make up the men’s team.

Mac Marcoux, who won three medals at the Sochi Paralympic Winter Games, joins Kirk Schornstein, Braydon Luscombe and Kurt Oatway complete the men’s para-alpine team. The women’s team includes sit-ski veteran Kimberly Joines as well as Erin Latimer and Alana Ramsay.